Daniel Huber

Daniel Huber

Affiliations: Faculty of Medicine, Department of Basic Neurosciences

Group name: Neural circuits and behavior

Domains: Sensory and Motor Systems, Development and Plasticity

Keywords: brain networks, learning, motor control, motor cortex

Research activities

Whether it is for tying one’s shoe laces or exploring the iPhone, we need to continuously practice new movements and acquire novel motor skills. Motor cortex is one of the key brain areas participating in learning and orchestrating such voluntary movements. Despite decades of research this brain area remains poorly understood. We use a series of innovative optical imaging methods, such as in vivo two-photon microscopy with fluorescent activity indicators, to record neuronal activity in the frontal cortex in the behaving animals and thereby gain a better understanding of the exact neuronal network dynamics underlying decision making and motor control. We work with mice since they are great manipulators and give access to a wide variety of important molecular tools. These experiments in rodents will ultimately help us to understand some of the basic neuronal mechanisms that govern our own actions, enabling us to solve new challenges.

Latest publications

See the complete list of the publications

Hide the members of the Lab

Prof. Daniel Huber

Group leader

CMU - D07.2147.B
+41 22 37 95 347
daniel.huber@unige.ch

Gregorio Galinanes Avila

Scientific collaborator

CMU - D07.2152.A
+41 22 37 95 389
gregorio.galinanes@unige.ch

Yesica Gloria

Assistant

CMU - E07.2450.A
+41 22 37 95 389
yesica.gloria@unige.ch

Andy Ho

Graduate student

CMU - D07.2152.A
+41 22 37 95 389
chun.ho@unige.ch

Deniz Kilicel

Graduate student

CMU - E07.2450.A
+41 22 37 95 389
deniz.kilicel@unige.ch

Kuo-Sheng Lee

Postdoc

CMU - E07.2450.A
+41 22 37 91 049
kuo-sheng.lee@unige.ch

Ali Nouri Zonoz

Graduate student

CMU - E07.2450.A
+41 22 37 91 049
ali.nourizonoz@unige.ch

Antoine Philippides

Graduate student

CMU - D07.2152.A
+41 22 37 95 389
antoine.philippides@unige.ch

Özge Yuzgec

Graduate student

CMU - E07.2450.A
+41 22 37 95 389
ozge.yuzgec@unige.ch

Robert Zimmermann

Graduate student

CMU - E07.2450.A
+41 22 37 95 389
robert.zimmermann@unige.ch

Videos

Contact

Faculté de médecine
Université de Genève
Email: Daniel.Huber@unige.ch