Christoph Michel

Christoph Michel

Affiliations: Faculty of Medicine, Department of Basic Neurosciences

Group name: Functional Brain Mapping Laboratory

Domains: Perception, Attention and Cognition

Keywords: brain lesions, brain networks, mental disorders

Research activities

Our principal research interest is the organization and the dynamics of the large-scale neuronal networks of the human brain that characterize mental functions, and the understanding of disturbances of these networks in patients with brain dysfunctions. Electromagnetic imaging based on high-density EEG is our principal instrument to study these questions. Our group is working on the development of spatio-temporal signal analysis techniques that allow to characterize neuronal electric activity in time and space. In order to enhance spatial resolution, other functional imaging techniques, in particular functional MRI are included. Besides the combination of electromagnetic and haemodynamic brain imaging techniques, our research projects also integrate direct intracranial recordings, neuropsychology and lesion studies as well as non-invasive brain stimulation. Besides cognitive and clinical studies in humans, the lab also integrates an animal electrophysiology section with high-density epidural as well as multi-site intracranial recordings. In a top-down approach, the aim of this section is to advance in the understanding of the neural mechanisms that lead to the alterations that we observe in EEG studies in humans and patients.

Latest publications

See the complete list of the publications

Hide the members of the Lab

Prof. Christoph Michel

Group leader

Campus Biotech - 189.159
+41 22 37 95 457
christoph.michel@unige.ch

Fiorenzo Artoni

Scientific collaborator

Campus Biotech - 186.156B
+41 22 37 90 873
fiorenzo.artoni@unige.ch

Lucie Brechet

Postdoc

lucie.brechet@unige.ch

Denis Brunet

Computer scientist

Campus Biotech - 175.159
+41 22 37 90 851
denis.brunet@unige.ch

Victor Ferat

PhD student

Campus Biotech - 178.156
+41 22 37 90 883
victor.ferat@unige.ch

Fabien Friscourt

PhD student

CMU - C07.1534.A
+41 22 37 95 357
fabien.friscourt@unige.ch

Ferran Galan

Scientific collaborator

Campus Biotech - 206.136
+41 22 37 90 452
ferran.galan@unige.ch

Giannina Rita Iannotti

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 4-667-1
+41 22 37 28 294
giannina.iannotti@unige.ch

Thomas Koenig

Visiting Professor

thomas.koenig@unige.ch

Guru Padmasola

PhD student

CMU - C07.1534.A
+41 22 37 95 357
guru.padmasola@unige.ch

Charles Quairiaux

Scientific collaborator

CMU - C07.1534.A
+41 22 37 95 357
charles.quairiaux@unige.ch

Vincent Rochas

Scientific collaborator

Campus Biotech - 178.156A
+41 22 37 90 890
vincent.rochas@unige.ch

Tomas Ros

Scientific collaborator

Campus Biotech - 186.156
+41 22 37 90 865
tomas.ros@unige.ch

Martin Seeber

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 190.177
+41 22 37 94 202
martin.seeber@unige.ch

Videos

Contact

Faculté de médecine
Université de Genève
Email: Christoph.Michel@unige.ch
Further informations concerning our animal studies can be addressed to: charles.quairiaux@unige.ch