Christoph Michel

Christoph Michel

Affiliations: Faculty of Medicine, Department of Basic Neurosciences

Group name: Functional Brain Mapping

Domains: Perception, Attention and Cognition

Keywords: brain lesions, brain networks, mental disorders

Research activities

Our principal research interest is the organization and the dynamics of the large-scale neuronal networks of the human brain that characterize mental functions, and the understanding of disturbances of these networks in patients with brain dysfunctions. Electromagnetic imaging based on high-resolution EEG is our principal instrument to study these questions. Our group is working on the development of spatio-temporal signal analysis techniques that allow to characterize neuronal electric activity in time and space. In order to enhance spatial resolution, other functional imaging techniques, in particular functional MRI are included. Besides the combination of electromagnetic and haemodynamic brain imaging techniques, our research projects also integrate direct intracranial recordings in epileptic patients, neuropsychology and lesion studies as well as transcranial magnetic stimulation. Our main cognitive neuroscience research areas are: visual and auditory perception, visuo-motor integration, multisensory interaction, language, memory and emotion. The major clinical application is the localization of epileptic activity in partial epilepsy.

Latest publications

See the complete list of the publications

Hide the members of the Lab

Prof. Christoph Michel

Group leader

Campus Biotech - 189.159
+41 22 37 95 457
christoph.michel@unige.ch

Fiorenzo Artoni

Scientific collaborator

Campus Biotech - 186.156B
+41 22 37 90 873
fiorenzo.artoni@unige.ch

Denis Brunet

Computer scientist

Campus Biotech - 175.159
+41 22 37 90 851
denis.brunet@unige.ch

Lucia Cantonas

Assistant

Campus Biotech - 178.156B
+41 22 37 90 888
lucia-manuela.cantonas@unige.ch

Victor Ferat

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 178.156
+41 22 37 90 883
victor.ferat@unige.ch

Fabien Friscourt

Assistant

CMU - C07.1534.A
+41 22 37 95 357
fabien.friscourt@unige.ch

Fernando Galan Moles

Scientific collaborator

Campus Biotech - 206.136
+41 22 37 90 452
ferran.galan@unige.ch

Giannina Rita Iannotti

Assistant

Campus Biotech - 4-667-1
+41 22 37 28 294
giannina.iannotti@unige.ch

Guru Padmasola

Assistant

CMU - C07.1534.A
+41 22 37 95 357
guru.padmasola@unige.ch

Charles Quairiaux

Scientific collaborator

CMU - C07.1534.A
+41 22 37 95 357
charles.quairiaux@unige.ch

Vincent Rochas

Assistant

Campus Biotech - 178.156A
+41 22 37 90 890
vincent.rochas@unige.ch

Nicolas Roehri

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 186.156A
+41 22 37 90 899
nicolas.roehri@unige.ch

Tomas Ros

Scientific collaborator

Campus Biotech - 186.156
+41 22 37 90 865
tomas.ros@unige.ch

Martin Seeber

Assistant

Campus Biotech - 190.177
+41 22 37 94 202
martin.seeber@unige.ch

Videos

Contact

Faculté de médecine
Université de Genève
Email: Christoph.Michel@unige.ch
Further informations concerning our animal studies can be addressed to: charles.quairiaux@unige.ch