Christian Lüscher

Christian Lüscher

Affiliations: Faculty of Medicine, Department of Basic Neurosciences

Group name: Addiction and Dopamine System

Domains: Development and Plasticity

Keywords: addiction, dependence, dopamine system, drug, synaptic plasticity

Research activities

Our lab is interested in cellular mechanisms that underlie drug reinforcement, dependence and addiction. We believe that the core of these diseases can be understood as neuroadaptive changes and pathological synaptic plasticity, which are initiated by the effects of addictive drugs on the mesolimbic dopamine system. We look at its origin, the ventral tegmental area (VTA), where we use electrophysiology (whole cell patch clamp) and imaging in acute slices of mice in combination with pharmacological, genetic and behavioral tools. Two lines of experiments are carried out in parallel: first, we characterize the role of Kir3/GIRK channels that are effectors of G protein coupled receptors (and therefore effectors of opioids, cannabinoids and g-hydoxybutyrate). Second, we test how addictive drugs such as cocaine affect synaptic plasticity in the VTA.

Latest publications

See the complete list of the publications

Hide the members of the Lab

Prof. Christian Lüscher

Group leader

CMU - D08.1551.C
+41 22 37 95 423
christian.luscher@unige.ch

Ridouane Achargui

Graduate student

CMU - D08.1555.A
+41 22 37 95 437
ridouane.achargui@unige.ch

Jennifer Cand

Lab technician

CMU - D08.1555.A
+41 22 37 95 465
jennifer.cand@unige.ch

Fabrice Chaudun

Postdoc

CMU - D08.1555.A
+41 22 37 95 437
fabrice.chaudun@unige.ch

Jérôme Flakowski

Postdoc

CMU - D08.1755.A
+41 22 37 95 390
jerome.flakowski@unige.ch

Lotfi Hadjas

Graduate student

CMU - D08.1555.A
+41 22 37 95 437
lotfi.hadjas@unige.ch

Masaya Harada

Graduate student

CMU - D08.1555.A
+41 22 37 95 437
masaya.harada@unige.ch

Agnès Hiver

Scientific collaborator

CMU - D08.1555.A
+41 22 37 95 437
agnes.hiver@unige.ch

Yue Li

Postdoc

CMU - D08.1549.A
+41 22 37 95 431
yue.li@unige.ch

Sylvia Yu Liu

Postdoc

CMU - D08.1555.A
+41 22 37 95 437
yu.liu@unige.ch

Michael Loureiro

Postdoc

CMU - D08.1755.A
+41 22 37 95 390
michael.loureiro@unige.ch

Nandkishor Mule

Postdoc

CMU - C08.1533.A
+41 22 37 95 241
nandkishor.mule@unige.ch

Vincent Pascoli

Scientific collaborator

CMU - D08.1555.B
+41 22 37 95 437
vincent.pascoli@unige.ch

Hélène-Sophie Renneboog

Secretary

CMU - D08.1551.B
+41 22 37 95 444
helene-sophie.renneboog@unige.ch

Linda Simmler

Scientific collaborator

CMU - D08.1555.A
+41 22 37 95 437
linda.simmler@unige.ch

Videos

Contact

Faculté de médecine
Université de Genève
Email: Christian.Luscher@unige.ch