Alexandre Pouget

Alexandre Pouget

Affiliations: Faculty of Medicine, Department of Basic Neurosciences

Group name: Laboratory of cognitive computational neuroscience

Domains: Perception, Attention and Cognition

Keywords: computation, decision making, neural circuits, uncertainty

Research activities

The goal of our research is to uncover general principles of representation and computation in neural circuits. Most computations of interest, such as recognizing an object or making a decision, are performed in the presence of high uncertainty. Recent behavioral work in humans and animals has shown that the nervous system handles this uncertainty near optimally, which is to say that the brain represents probability distributions over variables of interest and combine these distributions according to the laws of statistical inference. Our current work focuses on understanding how these inferences are performed at the neuronal level using a type of neural code known as population code. We apply our theory to a variety of domains, including decision making, multisensory integration, number representation, early visual processing and perceptual learning.

Key publications

See the complete list of the publications

Hide the members of the Lab

Prof. Alexandre Pouget

Group leader

CMU - C08.1538.A
+41 22 37 94 699
alexandre.pouget@unige.ch

Nicolas Antille

Lab technician

CMU - C08.1535
+41 22 37 94 701
nicolas.antille@unige.ch

Gaëlle Chapuis

Lab manager

CMU - C08.1536.A
+41 22 37 95 641
gaelle.chapuis@unige.ch

Charles Findling

Postdoc

CMU - C08.1537.A
+41 22 37 95 333
charles.findling@unige.ch

Berk Gercek

Graduate student

CMU - C08.1537.A
+41 22 37 95 333
berk.gercek@unige.ch

Nisheet Patel

Graduate student

CMU - C08.1537.A
+41 22 37 95 333
nisheet.patel@unige.ch

Reidar Riveland

Graduate student

CMU - C08.1536.A
+41 22 37 95 641
reidar.riveland@unige.ch

Pablo Tano Retamales

Graduate student

CMU - C08.1537.A
+41 22 37 95 333
pablo.tanoretamales@unige.ch

Videos

Contact

Faculté de médecine
Université de Genève
Email: Alexandre.Pouget@unige.ch