Corrado Corradi-Dell'Acqua

Alan Carleton

Affiliations: Faculty of Medicine, Department of Basic Neurosciences

Group name: Laboratory of sensory perception and plasticity

Domains: Perception, Attention and Cognition, Development and Plasticity

Keywords: brain networks, brain plasticity, multisensory integration, olfactory system

Research activities

In the laboratory, we study the mechanisms controlling sensory perception and how different senses may interact together. How neural networks encode sensory information into the brain and how to relate behavior to neuronal activities will be of great importance for future implementation of brain-machine interfaces. We would like to precise how sensory stimuli are coded by brain networks and how these representations may be influenced by experience and across different sensory modalities. In order to address these general questions, we study chemical senses as model sensory systems. Olfactory and gustatory are probably the senses most naturally interacting together in behaving animals especially during feeding behavior. We use a multidisciplinary approach combining in vitro and in vivo electrophysiology and functional imaging, 2-photon microscopy, lentivirus gene transfer and behaviour. Among different projects, we are currently studying the network mechanisms underlying olfactory coding, the synaptic mechanisms shaping olfactory networks function and the impact of adult neurogenesis on olfaction.

Latest publications

See the complete list of the publications

Hide the members of the Lab

Prof. Alan Carleton

Group leader

CMU - C08.1540.A
+41 22 379 54 26
alan.carleton@unige.ch

Léon Fodoulian

Graduate student

CMU - D08.2146.A
+41 22 379 54 62
leon.fodoulian@unige.ch

Chieko Huber

Graduate student

CMU - C08.1536.A
+41 22 379 56 41
chieko.huber@unige.ch

Elodie Husi

Lab technician

CMU - E08.2650.A
+41 22 379 54 45
elodie.husi@unige.ch

Roberta Leone

Graduate student

CMU - D08.2146.A
+41 22 379 54 62
roberta.leone@unige.ch

Marie Moulinier

Graduate student

CMU - E08.2352.A
+41 22 37 95 194
marie.moulinier@unige.ch

Sophie Mutel

Graduate student

CMU - E08.2352.A
+41 22 379 51 94
sophie.mutel@unige.ch

Jean-Rodolphe Renfer

Graduate student

CMU - D08.2146.A
+41 22 379 54 62
jean-rodolphe.renfer@unige.ch

Rodrigo Salazar Toro

Scientific collaborator

CMU - D08.1953.A
+41 22 379 54 69
rodrigo.salazartoro@unige.ch

Videos

Contact

Faculté de médecine
Université de Genève
Email: Alan.Carleton@unige.ch