Patrik Vuilleumier

Patrik Vuilleumier

Affiliations: Faculty of Medicine, Department of Basic Neurosciences

Nom du groupe: Laboratory for Behavioral Neurology and Imaging of Cognition

Domaines: Perception, Attention and Cognition, Affective and Social Neurosciences

Mot clés: Emotion, face recognition, facial expression, neural circuits, perception

Activités de recherche

Our group investigates the cerebral mechanisms of cognition, including perception, emotion, and consciousness. We use neuroimaging techniques such as functional resonance magnetic imaging (fMRI) and event-related potentials (ERPs). The major questions of our research concern how the human visual system can recognize objects and faces, how we identify sounds and voices, and how we perceive and respond to emotions and social signals, such as facial expressions or eye gaze. We also study the neural circuits by which emotions can influence perception and behavior, for example in response to fear, anger, or reward. We are particularly interested by the role of the amygdala in emotion and social processes. Our work also investigates the impact of brain lesions on cognitive functions (after stroke or other brain diseases), such as deficits in attention and space representations in hemineglect syndrome, with the aim to understand how different brain areas interact to produce normal conscious awareness of sensory space, and to develop new therapeutic approaches to improve impaired functions.

Dernières publications

See the complete list of the publications

Hide the members of the Lab

Prof. Patrik Vuilleumier

Group leader

Campus Biotech - 03.175.159
+41 22 37 95 381
patrik.vuilleumier@unige.ch

Sebastian Baez

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 90 998
sebastian.baezlugo@unige.ch

Birsu Beser

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.154.177
+41 22 37 90 383
birsu.beser@unige.ch

Bruno Bonet

Lab technician

CMU - BBL
+41 22 37 94 160
bruno.bonet@unige.ch

Lucie Brechet

Scientific collaborator

Campus Biotech - 03.178.156
+41 22 37 90 852
lucie.brechet@unige.ch

Heather Carlson

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.154.177
+41 22 37 90 349
heather.carlson@unige.ch

Eugénie Cataldo

Assistant

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 90 384
eugenie.cataldo@unige.ch

Yacila Deza

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 90 228
yacila.dezaaraujo@unige.ch

Julian Gaviria

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.158.177
+41 22 37 90 380
julian.gaviria@unige.ch

Frederic Grouiller

Scientific collaborator

CMU - E08.2756.A
+41 22 37 95 360
frederic.grouiller@unige.ch

Carole Guedj

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 90 993
carole.guedj@unige.ch

Raphael Guex

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 03.142.177
+41 22 37 90 347
raphael.guex@unige.ch

Mael Lebreton

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 02.167.159
+41 22 37 90 912
mael.lebreton@unige.ch

Cecilia Mazzetti

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 03.154.177
+41 22 37 90 992
cecilia.mazzetti@unige.ch

Christophe Mermoud

Lab technician

CMU - C07.1532.A
+41 22 37 94 168
christophe.mermoud@unige.ch

Lucas Peek

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 99 311
lucas.peek@unige.ch

Emilie Qiao

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.138.177
+41 22 37 90 805
emilie.qiao@unige.ch

Roberta Ronchi

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 95 311
roberta.ronchi@unige.ch

Nahuel Salem-Garcia

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.138.177
+41 22 37 90 807
nahuel.salem-garcia@unige.ch

Ilaria Sani

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 90 383
ilaria.sani@unige.ch

Jie Song

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 90 346
jie.song@unige.ch

Mi Xue Tan

Graduate student

Campus Biotech - 03.154.177
+41 22 37 90 345
mixue.tan@unige.ch

Eda Tipura

Postdoc

Campus Biotech - 03.162.177
+41 22 37 95 311
eda.tipura@unige.ch

Contact

Faculté de médecine
Université de Genève
Email: Patrik.Vuilleumier@unige.ch